Lariam & Antimalarial Drugs: To Take or Not To Take for Southeast Asia?

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. tooruichii says:

    This topic is indeed an interesting one. Especially for me, because I am interested in trips to Central Africa, where the situation is much worse than in the Southeast Asia.

    When I was going to SEA I’ve also did lots of research.

    As for South-East Asia countries, I’ve travelled all continental Southeast Asia (+island part of Malaysia + Indonesia) without any vaccinations and malarial precautions, although I lived in hostels or cheap hotels, ate street food, it was rain season, and so on. You can check the CDC site, where there is a special section called “traveller’s health”, and you can check the chances of getting malaria in every particular country in SEA. But actually, they are very low. As long as you don’t stay in the jungle overnight you have nothing to afraid of.

    On the other hand, if you want to feel safe, I can say that Doxycycline is the best choice. Hardcore travellers use it, and you can take it for half of the year consecutively in small doses without any side effects.

    But in case I would be too frightened about possible malaria danger, I would buy blood tests and the meds called Coartem – it is used to cure malaria in case you’re already sick, and it is very good, tropical doctors do recommend it – you can google it for more detals.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. TravelCopy says:

    Hi tooruichii,

    Thanks for taking the time to reply and your recommendations. Glad to hear you weren’t affected in SEA! I’ll be taking Doxycycline just in case, though I’m aware I could just risk not taking any antimalarials at all. I’ll update on how it goes 🙂 Thanks again!

    Like

  3. My Auntie had big problems with Lariam, it sounded really awful. I’m going to Indonesia and Thailand next month and have wanted to avoid antimalarial tablets for that reason. However my doctor’s recommended Malarone. In fact she said that they don’t prescribe the Lariam ones anymore (I assumed she meant that they aren’t prescribed in general in the UK anymore, but obviously not if your doctor gave you some!)
    I’m still unsure whether I’m going to get any or not. I know I don’t need any for where I’m going in Thailand, but I might do on certain islands in Indonesia.
    Anyway, thanks for the post, it’s at least made me feel a bit safer about the Malarone!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. TravelCopy says:

      Hi, so pleased you found it helpful! I was worried it would just get lost online and nobody would ever read it 🙂 Sorry I can’t offer more info on Malarone. All I know is I think it’s about £25-ish on prescription? Either way, it’s definitely safer than Lariam! Hope your auntie is well now, too.

      P.s I love books (English grad right here) – your blog is fantastic!

      Like

  4. Jamila Smith says:

    I think it’s really good that you listened to your instincts with the mefloquine 🙂 Lucky you googled it. And I’m glad I read this; it’s warned me to think for myself if I’m ever prescribed drugs like this in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. TravelCopy says:

      Thanks for commenting Jamila. Definitely do your own research! Whilst I didn’t like to question my doctor (he’s ‘meant to be the expert, after all), I think it’s important to speak up if your ever in any doubt! They might be knowledgeable, but they’re still only human – they make mistakes too!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Jamila Smith says:

        That makes me wonder how many other (non-medical) “facts” we take for granted without questioning things! How different would our lives be if we always did our own research with everything?!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

