Roaming Around Bangkok – Day One

Wandering around Bangkok by night for the very first time, I’m surprisingly calm. Aside from my unwillingness to venture out into the city’s hectic roads by foot (when you see an opening, don’t hesitate!), I can’t quite believe I’m here. Just less than thirty-six hours ago I was so anxious about travelling solo I was physically sick; now, I can’t wait to see what tomorrow will bring.

Solo Female Travel In Bangkok – Day One

It all started with an hour flight from Manchester to London Heathrow, an achievement in itself considering I’ve never flown solo (nevermind gone on a month-long trip alone). Once there, I had just over an hour to wait until I caught my second flight to Bangkok…

London Heathrow Airport
Waiting to get onto my flight to Bangkok at London Heathrow Airport

 

On the airplane, I was seated next to a couple who looked to be in their late fifties. We had two meals throughout the entire flight; one, a thai curry, the other, a tasteless English breakfast (which I ate whilst watching a kid on the aisle next to me, no older than five, throw up into a paper bag). All in all, despite not being able to get comfortable enough to sleep, the flight was okay. I even managed to watch the movie ‘Straight Outta Crompton’, which wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.

Waiting to go through security at Bangkok Suvarnabhumi airport, I couldn’t help but notice the advertisements. Though I couldn’t understand them completely, the images did much of the talking. One was for ‘Snail White’ cream by NAMU LIFE, the other, I have no idea, but let’s just say it was highly suggestive.

Snail White advertisement NAMU LIFE
Snail White advertisement

 

One thing I learnt after reclaiming my backpack at the airport, is that it’s too fucking heavy. While I was aware that (as a freakishly white, leggy blonde travelling solo) I was never going to blend right in, I had hoped I’d at least retain some dignity.

Instead, think Bridget Jones, evident first-time backpacker, sweating her arse off in an over-sized hoodie with serious-monster backpack, mumbling something about exchanging money and buying an international sim card, whilst simultaneously pondering whether or not she might faint.

Good news, I didn’t faint. Fortunately, my backpack’s not something I have to worry about on a daily basis. It’ll stay in my hotel room until I leave Bangkok, so I’ve a few days to sort it.

Leaving Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport

Bangkok Airport Taxi
Bangkok Airport Taxi

 

By the time I settled into my neon-pink taxi, I was past caring about how I looked to others. Outside was far more interesting – the people going about their daily lives, tuk-tuks and motorcyclists battling for road space, the monks in orange strolling casually by.

After I checked-in at my hotel, I organised a few things and then slept, since I couldn’t on the plane. A few hours and a shower later, I ventured out and came across a cute (quiet) vegatarian restaurant, where I ordered mushroom soup and a cup of English breakfast tea. On my way back, I grabbed some water and other bits from a 7-Eleven supermarket (there, two monks were very polite and a shopkeeper was sweeping the floor, so I stepped aside and he said “kop khuun” – my first “thank you” in Thai!).

Vegetarian restaurant in Bangkok, Thailand
Vegetarian restaurant in Bangkok, Thailand

Follow TravelCopy

That’s it – it’s 2.30am here and my body clock’s all over the place (sorry to have rushed that last part). Follow me on Twitter @ksfahey (TravelCopy) for regular updates! I follow back!

7-Eleven Thailand purchases
My not-so-Asian 7-Eleven purchases (I’ll be braver tomorrow)
4 Comments Add yours

  1. Julie washington says:

    You are so mad-have you not read the papers-wouldn’t catch me anywhere near elephant……….sorry you won’t have seen the papers! Just in bed reading your blog and Mike said the photos of provisions remind him of Karl pilkingtons “the moaning of life” minus the pickled onion monster munch!!
    Oh well back to my glam life and re runs of Gavin andStacey……
    Take care
    Love from the washies

    Liked by 1 person

  2. alexraphael says:

    Awful when fellow passengers are ill. I’d love to go to Asia.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. TravelCopy says:

      Why not go then?! 😄

      Like

      1. alexraphael says:

        I will one day 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

